Sucking at Stuff: The Key to freedom and happiness.

“Did you just fall?”

“No, I attacked the floor. “

“Backwards?”

“Yes, I’m freaking talented!”

You guys, I currently suck at a lot of stuff:

  • handstands
  • pull ups
  • speaking softly
  • driving (Krissy KRASH #duh)
  • monkey bars
  • writing legibly
  • AND A LOT MORE

In the past I sucked at a lot of other things:

  • roller skating backwards (and forwards)
  • public speaking
  • running more than a mile
  • double-unders (I still kind of suck at these but not quite enough to move them to the other list)
  • jumping 7 foot walls
  • walking and talking…you know….as a baby đŸ™‚

Here is the difference between me and a lot of people who will never stop sucking at stuff: they take sucking personally.

Dude, you cannot take sucking personally.

PRO TIP: Sucking at anything means absolutely nothing about your character or worthiness to be alive.

Most of us try something, suck at it, and then instantly make it mean a million things about ourselves and how destitute for failure we are.

Not me though. I am not sure when I let go of sucking at stuff and gave up making it a personal crisis, but I can tell you the freedom that comes from giving ZERO F*$%s about sucking at something is quite fantastic.

Why?

Once you stop taking sucking personally, you can try anything……and if it sucks, who cares? You can either try it again and maybe suck a little less, or simply drop it and go do other stuff with your personal self-worth still intact!I

In fact, I am 100% convinced that the key to our success with ANYTHING in life is to go out there and suck with reckless abandon. I mean get out there and suck with some serious commitment.

So go out this week and suck at all the things!

It means you are one step closer to being awesome at it.

www.krissykrash.com

Leave a Reply

