Higher Education- chasing……

I always find it interesting when someone who hates their career or job says “I’m gong to go back to school.” Don’t get me wrong, I am all for furthering ones education. But I think as some point we missed the point. I know I did. 7 years and $60,000 ago I thought I wanted to be a teacher. I had zero experience in public schools. I had 6 years in private preschool and Montessori as assistant teacher under my belt but no real time in the saddle as a public school teacher. But I didn’t know what else I wanted to do so I figured, I’ll go back to school! The greatest lesson I learned in 2 years of getting a credential was that I didn’t want to be a teacher. SECRET TIP:Ya still have to pay back the 60grand even if you don’t decide to teach.

I see so many of my friends lost, not knowing what they want and instead of figuring it out, dabbling in that path, they jump full into investing tens if not hundreds of thousands of dollars into high education for a career they know little about.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that many times the education we seek….what we are really chasing is happiness. We want more joy and we think a new job will get us that. But what if that’s the big joke in all of this? What if the joy for life comes not from new toys, new caters, more money? What if that true joy comes from learning first how to simply be happy where we are? To be able to breathe and have gratitude and love for everything around us NOW. Not in the future, not “when I have ____ I’ll be happy.” Because we won’t…..that’s the big joke at the end of the path. That the opportunity to be happy is now. To feel love and joy now. Then to move forward out of love, not out of lack.

20140604-064817-24497426.jpg

Leave a Reply

